Watercolour conundrum

It may be easy to assume that with practise you will master watercolour. Nah! Think again. Yesterday I could paint and today I couldn’t.

Why?

Because it is watercolour’s way of stopping you getting proud – pride really does come before a fall.

Ooh, I thought, I’m on a roll, I’ll just knock out a lovely fox I’ve been meaning to do for ages….

No you won’t, said watercolour. You will paint something that a four year old would be ashamed of…

I apologised to watercolour for taking it for granted and started again. It is not be best, but at least I am not too ashamed to post it here.

The moral of this story is that we are all beginners as far as watercolour is concerned and it likes to make sure we don’t forget it.

fox

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in animal portraits, Art, Techniques, Uncategorized, Watercolour and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Watercolour conundrum

  1. Candia says:

    This works, though!
    I know the feeling. So easy to overwork.

  2. I feel your pain! been there so many times but I like to think that I am not cooperating….and watercolor is trying to show me something! lol

  3. val says:

    so glad even a real expert like yourself feels that!!! it is always the boss!!! lol

  4. Soooo true!! Watercolor is wonderful, but it’s totally in charge…hehe… this is fabulous though! I just love your style! 😍

  5. M. L. Kappa says:

    This one turned out great! Sometimes things can be rescued and sometimes not- it’s not like oils where you can wipe it off and paint over… But the excitement! The freedom of taking a risk!

  6. The fox is lovely and I am shure your first try was way better than you said but I know exactly what you mean. Watercolor is so full of surprises and not all of them are welcome :-))

  7. I’ve never even tried watercolour painting, let alone painting, so I can’t imagine how hard it is but it looks like you did a really good job on this fox 😊

  8. breesmuse says:

    This fox is amazing! Pro!

Leave a Reply

