Pheasants

I have been wanting to paint a pair of fighting pheasants on canvas for a while, but it will be quite a challenge and I keep putting it off. So, today I bit the bullet (slightly).

Having been doing lots of pen and wash over the last couple of days, I decided to have a go – I started gently with a single happy bird, progressed to a ruffled chap and then did a pair. I am happy with the dynamic and now have to work out how to retain the simplicity and spontaneity in watercolour on its own, rather than using the pen as a crutch… At least I had plenty for #worldwatercolormonth day 13!

Ready…

day13a

Steady…

day13

Go!

pheasantsfighting

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in animal portraits, Art, canvas, Uncategorized, Watercolour and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pheasants

  1. WOWSER! Love these… the colors… the abstraction… the motion and life… beautiful!

  2. Gorgeous colours Liz, love it! 🤓👍🏻

  3. M. L. Kappa says:

    They’re lovely? Do you post on Instagram too?

  4. lizintheshed says:

    Hiya – one thing too far for me, so no to Instagram. I find by the time I have updated my website, artist facebook page, personal facebook, twitter, blog, facebook for a gallery I work with, their twitter account, pinterest, flickr…. I just need to rest in a darkened room!! I need stretchy hours!!

Leave a Reply

