Happy new year!

I am still working on my new year’s resolutions – something about walking 10,000 steps a day and some art related ones, of course…. painting every day perhaps? Not getting stuck in a rut?

How about you? Any good resolution ideas I can borrow?

I celebrated the new year by painting red kites. They soar overhead scaring the chickens and guinea pigs and I watch them in the fields following the tractors. I wanted to capture their movement and loft. Having tried a few times before, I haven’t been happy with the result, but this time I think I am getting there.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Soaring

This is watercolour on canvas 100x50cm, so I am continuing the canvas experimentation too. Not a bad start to the year – can tick that resolution off!

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in animal portraits, Art, canvas, Uncategorized, Watercolour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy new year!

  1. …. it is a powerful and masterful piece

    • lizintheshed says:

      Thank you. I would love to do more red kite painting and really get into their soul. They are such an iconic bird in my part of the country and a brilliant conservation/reintroduction success story. Red kites today and hoping for otters and beavers tomorrow!!

  2. This are absolutely stunning!!! What s fabulous image!! 😍 Hope you have a wonderful year!!

Leave a Reply

