Canvas cow – step by step (or jump by jump)

I am very excited by watercolour on canvas and thought I would share a step by step:

I primed a standard canvas with Daniel Smith’s watercolor ground and let it dry (for about six months, but that was just because I never got round to using it – 24 hours is good).

I chose a cow, as I can paint them in my sleep and a comfortable subject seemed a good idea with a new technique. So I did a light sketch on the canvas with a B pencil. I would do an even lighter sketch next time as removing the pencil marks is tricky on canvas.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Light sketch

I decided to paint in sections, as I knew it would dry slowly. I wanted to see how easy it was to leave white space and found that it’s a bit trickier than on paper. I guess if you need fine white detail, perhaps a spot of gouache at the end would be the way to go. I am not a fan of masking fluid and am not sure (yet) how it would go on the canvas. Having said that, the blown hairs are quite fine. I immediately noticed how clean and juicy the colours were on the canvas, which cheered me immensely. I wanted to see how salt reacted so I got a little carried away and this ear would certainly have high blood pressure. I kept the canvas on a gentle slope. The paint sits on the surface more than with paper, so you need to keep an eye out for unwanted runs.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Ear in progress

KODAK Digital Still Camera

What’s going on ‘ear?

Then I started to get excited and I am afraid there is a big jump until I remembered I was meant to be taking photos. Basically I started working on the eye and other ear, before moving to the nose. I found that runs and backruns were more ready to happen on the canvas than on paper. This suits me fine, but I imagine if you are a delicate watercolourist it would drive you nuts.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

A great leap forward

The eye was too weak, so I knew I would have to go back over and was a bit nervous, as the paint lifts so easily.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

A good time for a break to assess what’s what

Once you are getting towards the end, it is a good time to stop, have a cup of tea/glass of wine/stiff brandy and look with fresh eyes. I was not sure whether I would leave the background white, but decided it looked too stark and a bit lazy.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

washing in the background

I let everything dry and rubbed out the pencil marks as best I could before applying a wash and a few splats. Then it dried overnight and I varnished using a Golden spray UV/achival/matte varnish – lots of thin coats, not forgetting the edges. Do spray outside if you can as the stuff cannot be good for your lungs. I will  knock in the stretching wedges and find a backing board, just to give the picture more weight and stop light shining through the canvas.

cowcanvasIf you can zoom in on the final image, do have a look at the watermarks and the way the salt has worked on the top left corner. I really life the flow effects. It’s all about controlling the water and I think there is a lot of potential here.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Varnishing day

So, I am raring to go with the other canvases. I am going to keep to safe subjects for the time being – maybe a stag or otter, but I feel this has lots of potential. What do you think?

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in animal portraits, Art, how to, step by step and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Canvas cow – step by step (or jump by jump)

  1. Love this!!! I have wondered how this would work for some time, so thank you very much for sharing your process. I, too, like vibrant colors, so it’s very exciting to know that a canvas may be a good option to get those. Having painted in oils and acrylics for years, I would love to return to an “old friend.”

    • lizintheshed says:

      Go for it! I am just about to try a canvas primed with acrylic gesso and it will be interesting to see the difference. Will let you know which I think works better. I am addicted to watercolours so having alternatives is great.

      • Oh how fun! I hope it’s a blast, and yes, definitely let me know how the new surface affects things!

      • How fun! I hope you like the results and I will be glad to hear how it has worked. I have been more into watercolor pencils and markers and how they work…that has been a lovely experiment, and I look forward to trying new colors and techniques there.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    Thank you, so much for sharing this. I am always looking for new ideas, so have bookmarked this for a try! Your cow? LOVE IT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

