Exciting developments

I haven’t blogged for ages – sorry. I have been rushed off my feet with writing work, painting, family, friends… life. Have been a bit stressed, truth be told. At the beginning of May, I took part in the Henley Arts Trail, which was huge fun. I was based in Twyford for the first time, with a lovely bunch of artists and makers. A chance conversation has lead to me running a workshop with JoeDaisy Studio (www.joedaisy.co.uk) and it went well enough for me to be asked back! We are going to put dates and content together, but I may be doing one a month for them. How cool is that?

The downside of being busy is that painting suffers. I really need a clear head to paint and worrying about everything I have promised everyone, does stop the paint flowing. I have therefore stepped back from the Art House in Wokingham and given notice to one of my writing clients. I hope to be able to create a better balance in life.

The effect has been good so far. I spent my last day in the Art House painting and did these (spot the fact I don’t like to waste paint and wash out my palette!):

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Doe

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Stag

Hope that I will feel a pile more experimental and creative shortly.

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in animal portraits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exciting developments

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Your work is beautiful, loose and so juicy! Thank you for letting me know about your blog by leaving a comment on mine. This reminds me so much of Jean Haines work. The cow is phenomenal!

    • lizintheshed says:

      Thanks Leslie, I have been following your blog for a while and am really impressed with the range of techniques you use (and teach). I don’t think we are as adventurous in the UK! I am hoping to have a bit more space to experiment over the next few months – so many ideas/so little time! I do get that comment a lot about either Jean Haines or Jake Winkle. Jean’s work is way looser than mine and I promise I was painting this way before I heard of her!! Jake’s work is more direct and mine is somewhere in the middle. Regretfully I am not as well known or as well paid as either….. yet! Nice to make contact and keep up the brilliant work. Liz

Leave a Reply

