Feedback wanted!

Bit of a departure for me – I am doing a series of musical instruments for someone – not a cow in sight! These paintings may end up as greetings cards, but I want them to work as paintings, not just illustrations.

This is the first:

KODAK Digital Still Camera I wanted to get the feeling of the music spilling out of the French Horn, rather than simply trying to capture the shiny, hard nature of brass. But I didn’t want to do that cliche thing of musical notes and stave.This is also why I didn’t go for brassy colours.

The violin is the second. With a square format, the belly seems to be the most interesting part, though I may have a go at the scroll, because they are beautiful. I have just googled ‘violin watercolour’ and found an almost identical picture (well apart from the colour), which proves yet again that there a no new ideas in the world.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

So before I go on to a piano and electric guitar, I would love feedback. What do you think? All feedback welcome!

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in Art, Techniques, Watercolour and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feedback wanted!

  1. Larry Zink says:

    You use the washy look to great advantage. You might try adding a couple of dark tones for added contrast. Looks great though

Leave a Reply

