Marwell International Wildlife Art Society – my first international exhibition!

Earlier this year Colin Castle (www.colincastleart.com) persuaded me to join MIWAS and now, here we are a few days away from their annual exhibition.

It takes place at Rookesbury Park Manor, Wickham, Hants, PO176HT 29-31 August. Apparently its Europe’s largest annual exhibition of wildlife art (gosh). I am therefore going to have to add it to my CV under a heading of ‘international exhibitions’. I am always wildly impressed by artists whose work is exhibited internationally, and now I can join them. Oh, I know ‘smoke and mirrors’, but hey, you have to play the game….

As a newbie, I am only allowed to put in two pieces, so I have selected a hare and a flamingo – hopefully both suitably wild:

I have called the hare ‘Watchful’ and it is priced at £295 (framed).hare6web

And this is ‘In a twist’. Pen and wash, £325 (framed)flamingo1web
I’ll let you know how I get on.

The suppport and encouragement of other artists is so important – Colin (mentioned above) and Carol Cox (http://carolcoxartbycarolcox.blogspot.co.uk/), both live near me, so we are sharing lifts and delivery.

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in animal portraits, Art, Exhibitions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marwell International Wildlife Art Society – my first international exhibition!

  1. Jan Stroud says:

    Congratulations, They are two fabulous paintings – good luck. Jan

    • lizintheshed says:

      Thank you Jan – I am not sure what to expect at the exhibition. I am told people come from all over Europe and also it is the first one I have entered, which is dedicated solely to wildlife… we shall see!

Leave a Reply

