Ducks in a row – step by step (or should that be waddle by waddle?)

I have been asked to paint some wild ducks, but without the usual background and complete with feet. My natural inclination is usually to paint half a something and have nice wishy-washy backgrounds so this was going to be a challenge.

I started off simply:

duck3

And though there were some parts I liked, I wanted contrast between the hard beak, reptilean legs and feet and the feathers. So I did this one:

ducks1b

ducks1c

ducks1d

ducks1e

It was closer to what I wanted, but I would prefer it to be looser. So I did another and forgot I wasn’t mean to be doing any background:

ducks2a

ducks2b

ducks2c

ducks2d

ducks2f

ducks2g

So the moral of this tale is that sometimes painting the same thing over and over is good for you. Usually I don’t have the time or inclination, but it is good to learn from your own mistakes. Wouldn’t it be lovely to be able to paint everyday, without pressure to produce a specific-something and just for the fun of painting? Just think what progress you could make. Oh well, dream on…

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in animal portraits, how to, step by step, Techniques, Uncategorized, Watercolour. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

