Cropping a picture

I am a great believer in a painting not being sacred. If, after you have finished, I think a bit isn’t working or the composition is off, then I reach for the scissors.

owls2

This is the painting I did in my demonstration yesterday. I have already disposed of a third owl which was on the right. I didn’t like it, so it was scrubbed off under a tap and then given a good trim – poor thing. Now I am looking again and I really like the bird in profile. I am wondering if I cropped it to a square format whether it would balance the birds better and bring the profile owl to the fore.

owls2sq

So, my question to you is – keep it landscape or cut it square? I will hide the scissors until you decide!

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in Art, Techniques, Watercolour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

