Dinton Pastures

My watercolours are back at Dinton Pastures in the lovely Dragonfly Cafe. When I did an exhibition there at the beginning of the year, I thought it would be great for exposure, but not sales. Afterall, how often do you order a coffee, scoff a cake and buy a painting? Apparently, quite often, I discovered. So when they asked me back, I was very chuffed and I think it looks good.

My lovely Adam helped me hang the paintings (well sat there asking how much longer). And now I have sold five. The good thing is that I don’t have to be there all the time, but the bad thing is that I don’t get to hear comments and feedback. I am new to this game, so it feels a bit like appearing naked in public, but it is good to interact with people and get comments on your work.

It never ceases to amaze me what appeals to people. A painting that you think is so-so, is the one that someone falls in love with. The one you think should be hanging in the RA is sniffed at. Your loose splatter technique is queried as a mistake and the random easy to do salt paterns are admired. The lesson? Have faith in yourself and what you love – there is no rhyme or reason.

 

Adam just glad the jolly pictures are on the wall…..

 

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in Art, Exhibitions, Watercolour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

