New chickens

I know this blog is meant to be about me getting a posh shed to work in, but on the grounds the shed will be in the garden and our new chickens live in the garden, I think I am allowed to write about them. 

We’ve had a rough year on the chicken front.  Have started the year with two old birds laying every day throughout winter, the first sign of spring had them going on strike.  I thought it might be time to get some new blood in.  Instead of the usual crossbreed I thought we might push the boat out and get something recognisable so came home with a Moran and a Leghorn.  It all went downhill from there on in.  The Leghorn keeled over and I ended up with the other three on antibiotics (syringing it down their throats twice a day, meant my immunity is pretty high now).  Anyway, then one got flystrike in the hot weather and we were down to two.  Two days ago Amber keeled over.  Happily pecking the day before – feet up when I went out in the morning.  Anyway, poor Hennypenny was lonely and yesterday we went to get two new chickens – Cocoa and Biscuit.  Hopefully they will lay soon and be robust.  I love my chickens and think they may have to move up the garden with me to my shed, so they can cluck and keep me company.

About lizintheshed

Watercolour artist and copywriter, living and working in the Thames Valley.
This entry was posted in garden matters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

